Travelling_Lucy’s Liebster Award!

What is the Liebster Award? The Liebster Award is an online only award which is given to bloggers by other bloggers. The first ever award was given back in 2011! “Liebster” has quite a few different meanings in German, including; sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant…the list goes on! I was overwhelmed when I was nominated by a blogger – people actually like and read my blogs! Bearing in mind I only published my first blog 3 months ago – I’m pretty excited and never thought I would receive and award.

I’d like to say a big Thank You to Laura of No liebsterShoes Today blog, I appreciate you nominating me! Please make sure you check out her blog and Instagram! Laura is a British blogger who loves travelling just like me, she loves to share tips and tricks on budget adventures – giving all of you inspiration and the confidence that you can travel on any budget!

These are the rules of the Liebster Award: 

  1. Write a blog post on the Liebster Award and Thank the blogger/s who nominated you
  2. Answer the 11 questions given to you by the blogger who nominated you
  3. Nominate 5-11 of your favourite new bloggers for the Liebster Award andnotify them
  4. Provide the rules and instructions for accepting the award
  5. Create 11 new questions for your nominees
  6. Post your Liebster Award blog post link in the comment of the nominators Liebster Award post

My 11 questions from No Shoes Today:

1. Where was the first place you travelled to? Not too sure how to answer this question as the very first place I ever travelled to was Gran Canaria, I was only one year old – I started travelling young! Does that count or shall I answer that question as where was the first place you travelled to? (that you remember). Obviously I don’t remember any of the holiday but there are plenty of cute pictures. The first place I remember travelling to was Mallorca – Palma de Mallorca, it’s a beautiful island in the Canaries and I still go back now and again to visit. 

2. What’s the weirdest thing you have experienced whilst travelling so far? I think the weirdest thing I saw while I was on a trip was definitely thousands of bee’s attacking an ice cream van next to the Duomo Cathedral in Milan last year. My partner and I were walking back towards our apartment, which meant we needed to walk past the Duomo di Milano Cathedral. There seemed to be a rather large crowd around this ice cream van – wondering what all the chaos was, we went closer and saw police, police tape cornering the van off and thousands of bee’s on and inside the van, it was a rather strange thing to see.

3. If you could and if you wanted to, where would you go back to and do it differently? I would definitely say Milan hands down, we visited in May 2016, there’s only a few things that I would change. We booked our apartment through airbnb, but didn’t realise how far away the Duomo and town centre was (it was about a 30 minute walk), there was also a real lack of restaurants and supermarkets near us which was a real shame. The only other thing I would change would be how long we went for, you really don’t need that long to stay in Milan. We visited for 3 full days (4 nights), I would definitely only recommend you go for 2 full days, there are some lovely places to see but you don’t need that much time.

4. Other than your home, where have you most felt at home? Other than London, I would say that the place that feels most like home would definitely be Lanzarote and Mallorca. My family and I went on lots of holidays to these islands when I was growing up and renting villas – it just felt like home to me. With an advantage of me being able to speak a little Spanish, we also have some family friends on the island. It seems like any Spanish city or island feels like home to me, even if I have never been there before. 

5. Are you a beach or a city type? When I was younger and growing up I definitely preferred beach holidays with my family but as I am getting older I 100% prefer city breaks. If the city has a beach close that’s a bonus too, I just find doing things in the city is more interesting and would much prefer learning things about the city. Plus you can get a sun tan whilst walking around the city (if it’s a warm one)!

6. What is at the top of your travel bucket list at the moment? As it’s me and my partner that travels together, we have always wanted to go to Amsterdam, neither of us have been. It’s been at the top of our travel bucket list for a while and we are eventually going in Feb! Other than Amsterdam, I have always wanted to visit America, unfortunately I have never visited. However! We are looking into doing a 2 week holiday in the summer months, travelling to maybe California for 1 week and Hawaii for the other week – it would be amazing!

7. What one place do you always tell people they should go and visit? BARCELONA! I loved it when we went in 2015, I definitely want to go back in the summer months as I visited in November. There’s always something to do there, you have the city and the beach. The Gothic Quarter is a personal favourite of mine as I love History and Architecture. I would always recommend this beautiful city time and time again.

8. Why did you start your blog? I wanted to start a blog because I love travelling, history, architecture and photography – and wanted to share it with everyone, people who can and cannot visit these places. I love reading about other bloggers adventures, whether they are in Europe, Asia or America – it’s great also to get tips on countries that I have never been before. I want to help people get to know London, England and read my experiences and tips when travelling to other countries.

9. What have you found hardest about blogging? This is quite a tough question! I would definitely say gaining followers and getting my blog posts out to the world. I know it comes in time and through hard work, but so far that would  be the hardest thing about blogging.

10. Are you a planner or a spontaneous traveller? I’m without a doubt, 100% a planning traveller. I always research countries, cities, towns before I consider going there and booking a flight. Once I have booked a flight I usually research the area more, looking into how to get from the airport, places of interest to visit, what trains or buses we can take to get there. I just love knowing what we can do, how we can do it and not lose time wondering what to do or not knowing how long it will take to get somewhere. I think it’s definitely a good and bad thing, I would love to have a spontaneous trip or let my partner sort everything out, but knowing him he would forget something major!

11. What would be your number one piece of advice be for first time travellers? My number one piece of advice for new travellers would be: be open minded, look around and do your research. I always do these 3 things and it makes travelling a breeze! Research your destination and what’s around, look on different website for the cheapest/best offers on flights and accommodation and lastly, be open minded about countries and places to stay. 

I hope you enjoy this blog for the Liebster Award, Thank You again to Laura for nominating me! I would love to hear your thoughts and tips on travelling too. 

My Nominees:

  1. London Wlogger – Stu often explores London by foot to find hidden gems, including buildings, sights and monuments. 
  2. Perry Edward Burdfield Perry doesn’t blog about travelling but he is an aspiring writer, writing fantasy, short stories and even poetry. 
  3. Wading WadeAll the tips and tricks you need for travelling!
  4. Anywhere With BrookeBrooke gives great travelling tips, especially for students and people in full time education.
  5. Warm Exposure Seth takes amazing photographs, mainly in Qatar!

Questions for my nominees:

  1. Have you had any major fails or bad things happen on any of your trips?
  2. Do you regret visiting anywhere? If so, where did you regret visiting and why?
  3. What one song makes you remember all your memories from travelling?
  4. Where is your favourite destination?
  5. What country or city do you want to visit the most?
  6. Have you traveled to a place that you couldn’t wait to get out of?
  7. If you could move to any other country in the world, where would you move to?
  8. What is your number one travel essential?
  9. Do you prefer to travel alone, in a group or with a partner/friend?
  10. What’s the scariest thing that’s happened on a trip? (if any)
  11. Where are you planning to travel to next?

Don’t forget to sign up for more blogs, follow me on my adventures through Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and Youtube.

4 thoughts on “Travelling_Lucy’s Liebster Award!

Leave a Reply

