Richmond Park, Cloudy Day Walk

I thought I would venture out of my beloved Bushy Park and visit the huge Richmond Park. I do go to Richmond Park every now and again, but it’s not my first choice to go looking for deer and photographing them as the park is massive – pretty much impossible to know where they will be (unless you’re a deer tracking expert). 

If you don’t know about Richmond Park, here’s a little more information: it’s the largest of the capital’s eight Royal Parks and the biggest enclosed space in London. The park is a National Nature Reserve, London’s largest Site of Special Scientific Interest and a European Special Area of Conservation. Home to herds of red and fallow deer and a few lovely buildings along with some secret gardens.

Moving on…I drove to Richmond Park, parked in the Pembroke Lodge car park and went off on a walk. To my surprise, I wasn’t very, let’s say – satisfied with the way the park looked through the camera. Usually you can take some really lovely pictures in Richmond park, but the day I went just kinda failed. The weather might have had something to do with it as it was half grey, gloomy clouds and half blue skies – but that can usually make a picture. 

Surprisingly, I never found any deer, until I started to drive towards one of the exits (the way I didn’t walk – typical). But I did come across this very strange gate (below picture), I had never seen it before when visiting – it looks like something out of a horror film or a fantasy film. “The Way” gate, I wonder what’s down there? Unluckily, you can’t go down there as it’s locked – definitely not “the way” then.

See more of my Richmond Park pictures on Instagram. Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and Pinterest

img_3210

 

img_3211

img_3216

img_3212

img_3219

img_3209

2 thoughts on “Richmond Park, Cloudy Day Walk

Leave a Reply

